Notes on Style and Fashion

It Simply Does Not Go Out of Style

Posted on: August 11, 2007

It’s been burned into the collective fashion conscience that the Little Black Dress is the classic, timeless clothing piece to own. Coco Chanel made this dress popular in the ’20s. (She also made it popular to come back from vacation with a decidedly sun-kissed appearance. She was fashion-forward, to say the least.) There is a certain footwear that I would classify as timeless as well: The high-heeled ankle boot. It seems that many fall fashion magazines push the style, the uniqueness, the versatility of the ankle boot. These are my two favorite (my only, really) pairs. The suede pair are what I bought for myself at Target, which is one of my favorite places to shop. The buckled boot I received as a gift either on my birthday or for Christmas five and a half years ago. Therein lies the reason why I make the claim that ankle boots have yet to go out of style. Nearly six years have past, and the boots are still relevant.

The ankle boot comes in various incarnations, but ultimately, with fur or without fur, with buckles or without buckles, they are here to stay. Depending on how low the ankle boot is, it can be paired with a skirt or pants. The buckled-boot, what I lovingly refer to as my “Rocker boot,” has traditionally been paired with my jeans, whereas the suede boot as been paired with jeans or a more dressier pant.

This fall, Marc Jacobs’ fur-trimmed boot is a must-have. As are these boots by Giuseppe Zanotti, Rock & Republic, and Christian Louboutin.


1. Giuseppe Zanotti, $650


2. Rock & Republic, www.eluxury.com


3. Christian Louboutin, $890, NET-A-PORTER.COM

However, if you’re like me and are on a budget, these would be the better option.


1. BCBGirls, $98.95, Zappos



2. Restricted, $93.95, Zappos



3. rsvp, $59.95, Zappos

Happy hunting. Any of these boots would be a great addition to one’s fall wardrobe.

2 Responses to "It Simply Does Not Go Out of Style"

I love pointy-toed, high-heeled ankle boots. They look great with jeans, you can wear them to the office. They go with everything.

[…] in actuality, the weather has become downright biting and cold. I’ve taken to wearing the black Isaac Mizrahi boots that I bought at the beginning of the year almost anytime that I go out. Of course, this leads me […]

Leave a Reply

la fashionista has had an interest in fashion and style since childhood when she first saw her mother dress in the various fashion of the 80s. Her mother was also a great seamstress, which was a definite influence on la fashionista's foray into fashion. Sadly, her mother's sewing talent did not get passed on to la fashionista.

But that doesn't mean that she doesn't still love talking about fashion. Because she does!

Please send all fashion correspondence and inquiries to:

notesonstyleandfashion [at]gmail[dot]com

notesonstyle

August 2007
S M T W T F S
    Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Reading is Fashionable

Blog Stats

  • 20,726 hits

Get the Feed!

