Notes on Style and Fashion

The Most Wonderful Time

Posted on: December 21, 2007

Elie TahariI’ve always been prone to procrastination. I’m not quite sure why. I do know that I was born one week early, so maybe after that day, I decided, “Maybe I should take things slow?” And, boy, do I! Four days before Christmas, and I have just begun my holiday shopping. Not to worry, though; I finished it all in a matter of hours. And I managed to lavish myself with some gifts in the process. In a previous post, I mentioned that I was looking for boots. I found them! Two pairs! And one of them was for a steal.

I decided to make my way to DSW in Bethesda. I like that store better because it has two levels, which means more inventory. While looking for shoes and/or boots for my sisters, I snooped around looking for things for myself (because what fun is Christmas shopping if you can’t buy yourself a gift?). What I discovered was a pair of kick-ass Elie Tahari knee high bootsMe and my Taharis tucked away on the clearance rack in the size seven section. I wear a size nine. However, knowing how chaotic the clearance section at DSW can be, I took the chance. The boots–design name, Kat– were not a size seven! They weren’t a size nine, either, but rather a ten. I sighed. Then I decided to see what the clearance price was. These boots were $220 and the sticker was yellow. I looked up at one of the many signs that are perched atop the clearance racks, the signs which decode what each color sticker means. There was an explanation about what a red sticker meant; about what a green sticker meant; about what a purple sticker meant; and about what a blue sticker meant. Nothing about a yellow sticker, though. I peeked at the price again, and saw that around the periphery of the sticker was the answer I had been looking for: 80% off. I walked away having paid $44 for designer boots.

Nine West

In addition to those boots, I snagged a pair of Nine West ankle boots for half off. They fit like a glove, and I love the fact that they’re steel gray and suede. Plus, the heel height–three inches–is just right.

At Express, I also bought a pair of wide-leg jeans for 30% off.

Express jeans

 

Merry Christmas to me!

2 Responses to "The Most Wonderful Time"

miss lady, those tahari boots are superb! such a drool-worthy deal, I’m jealous! lol…merry christmas

http://socialitedreams.wordpress.com

It was a stroke of luck that I found those boots. I really like them!

Leave a Reply

la fashionista has had an interest in fashion and style since childhood when she first saw her mother dress in the various fashion of the 80s. Her mother was also a great seamstress, which was a definite influence on la fashionista's foray into fashion. Sadly, her mother's sewing talent did not get passed on to la fashionista.

But that doesn't mean that she doesn't still love talking about fashion. Because she does!

Please send all fashion correspondence and inquiries to:

notesonstyleandfashion [at]gmail[dot]com

notesonstyle

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Reading is Fashionable

Blog Stats

  • 20,726 hits

Get the Feed!

